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SUBJ:  Foreclosure, Property Preservation and Servicing Fees

Purpose:

The Denver Regional Loan Center (RLC) has jurisdiction for properties located in Colorado,
Wyoming, Alaska, Idaho, Montana, New Mexico, Utah, Oregon and Washington.  This release
provides program participants with guidelines for determining which foreclosure, property
preservation and servicing fees, and the maximum reimbursable amounts of those fees, may be
reimbursed on a Claim Under Guaranty in these states.  All claims for reimbursement must be
reasonable and customary and lenders must always obtain quality service at the least expense to
them and VA.  Copies of bills and receipts, or other evidence of payment, must be submitted with the
claim.

Effective Date:

The fees and expenses set out in this release are effective for VA loan foreclosures conducted on or
after July 1, 2002.

Legal and Trustee Fees:

All Claims Under Guaranty are subject to Title 38 Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) 36.4276(b) and
36.4313(b) which stipulate the combined total of the amounts claimed for trustee’s fees and legal
services may not exceed $850.  In those states where a non-judicial foreclosure is the most common
procedure used, payment of additional amounts will be considered on a case-by-case basis when a
judicial foreclosure must be conducted subject to the regulatory limitation previously mentioned.  The
maximum fees for each state under the jurisdiction of this RLC are specified on the attachment to this
release.

Title Insurance:

Title insurance policy costs will be reimbursed in those instances where the property is conveyed to
VA, or when a title policy is obtained instead of a foreclosure certificate.  In the event VA returns title
of a property to the holder, the cost of the title policy will not be reimbursed.



Required Notices:

VA will allow $10.00 for each notice of intention to foreclose sent to the original veteran and/or liable
obligor as required by 38 CFR 36.4317(c).

General information concerning property preservation expenses:

• Entry door lock changes will be reimbursed one time only.  All doors which have a key lock should
be changed.  The keys must be attached to VAF 26-8903, Notice for Election to Convey And/or
Invoice For Transfer of Property when it is submitted to VA.

 
• Winterization of plumbing and heating systems should be done year-around.  During the winter

months the utilities should remain on and set at 55 degrees, in addition to winterization.  VA will
reimburse for transfer of utilities to the holder’s name, as well as actual utility costs when the
property is vacant.

 
• When a property is vacant, apparently abandoned and subject to vandalism, appropriate steps

must be taken to protect the security.  VA will reimburse actual costs, if reasonable and
customary, for boarding of windows and doors if the holder determines the action is necessary.
This does not mean every vacant property should be screened and/or boarded.  In fact, boarding
of properties in well-maintained neighborhoods can invite break-ins.  In locations where vandalism
is high, all ground floors should be secured.  The material suggested for boarding windows and
doors is plywood secured with nails; however, the holder should use judgment in selecting the
most economical method of securing without jeopardizing the effectiveness.

 
• Actual cost, if reasonable and customary, will be paid for removal of debris to eliminate health or

safety hazards.  Documentation must be submitted with the request for payment evidencing the
nature and the extent of the hazard.  A fee for dumping will be reimbursed if documented by a
receipt; however mileage will not be reimbursed.

 
• Pursuant to VA Regulations 36.4278 and 36.4346, holders are required to conduct property

inspections before the 60th day of delinquency and at least once each month after liquidation
proceedings have been started unless servicing information shows the property continues to be
owner-occupied.  An abandoned property must be inspected at least monthly to prevent
unnecessary deterioration due to vandalism or neglect.

 
• Grass should be cut as needed but no more than twice per month between April and October.

Mowing once per month may prove sufficient depending on the amount of rainfall.  Snow removal
should be performed as required by local codes.

Prior Approval

Prior Approval for property preservation is not required and will not be given.  It is the holder’s
responsibility to protect and preserve properties when they become vacant and abandoned.  Holders
are to ensure compliance with all city, county or other ordinances in accordance with the terms of the
mortgage loan agreement.  A holder may advance any reasonable amount necessary and proper for
the maintenance or repair of the security and such advance may be added to the guaranteed
indebtedness.  Most security instruments have a provision to protect the property securing the loan.
The removal of hazardous materials, the correction of hazardous conditions, and the avoidance of
liens are primary concerns.  Failure to protect and preserve the security can result in additional losses



to the holder.  A diminution in value can cause VA not to specify an amount for credit to the
indebtedness in the event of foreclosure (no bid).  If the holder’s failure to protect and preserve the
property increases VA’s liability, the holder’s claim payment will be adjusted (reduced).

If an item is not covered by this bulletin or there are unusual circumstances which support additional
expense, the holder may submit complete information to justify the additional expense with the Claim
Under Loan Guaranty and request reimbursement at that time.  The holder is responsible for taking
appropriate measures to protect and preserve the security for the loan.  The decision as to what
action to take to preserve and protect the property is the holder’s decision, and it is independent of
the amount of the costs which VA will reimburse.

Hazard Insurance

Under 38 CFR 36.4326, it is the holder’s responsibility to procure and maintain insurance policies in
an amount sufficient to protect the security against risks or hazards to which it may be subjected.  All
moneys received under such policies covering payment of insured losses shall be applied to
restoration of the security or to the loan balance.  Holders should consult VA in total or near total loss
cases before consenting to an insurance adjustment if it appears the settlement proceeds will not be
sufficient to pay off the loan balance or restore the security.  In certain cases when a loan is in the
process of being terminated and existing coverage has been canceled or renewal has been refused,
premiums actually paid for high cost coverage will be eligible for reimbursement in part, as evidenced
by copies of premium notices and paid receipts.  VA must receive prior notification if hazard
insurance is not obtainable, or obtainable only at prohibitive cost, in order to prevent a claim
adjustment under 38 CFR 36.4325(b)(3).  Upon receipt and review of the notification VA will provide
assurance in writing that there will not be an adjustment due to the holder’s failure to procure and
maintain an insurance policy.  Please contact a VA Loan Service Representative if you have any
questions.

Mortgage Loan Servicing Fees:

Although VA does not encourage nor endorse fees related to mortgage loan servicing, the fees and
charges listed below are not prohibited if they are reasonable in amount and agreed to by the parties
or permissible under the loan agreement:

• Recording a change of ownership of the mortgage property on the books of the servicer.  VA
would consider a charge in excess of $50 for such service to be unreasonable, regardless of
whether or not there is also a substitution of liability on the mortgage.

 
• Processing and reprocessing checks of the borrower which are returned to the servicer for

insufficiency.



 
• Substitution of hazard insurance policies during the term of a previously furnished policy (at a time

other than the normal renewal period) when substitution is made at the request of the mortgagor.
A charge in excess of $10 for such service will be considered unreasonable.  Any charge for
policy renewal or replacement at the normal renewal period will be considered inappropriate.

 
• Processing partial releases of the mortgaged property.
• 
• Processing subordination agreements.
 
• Modification of the mortgage by a formal written extension or reamortization agreement.
 
• Marking the mortgage satisfied regardless of allowability by local law or loan documents.
 
If You Have Questions

Questions regarding allowable fees and charges should be directed to Sarah Lund at
(303) 914-5636.  A list of other Regional Loan Center key personnel is attached.

VLINDA A. CHILDS
Loan Guaranty Officer

Attachments:  2  Itemized List of Allowable Fees
   Loan Administration Key Personnel

Distribution:  Holders and Servicers of VA Guaranteed Loans

Recission: Loan Guaranty Letter No. 01-10
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The borrower’s toll-free line in Loan Administration is 1 (800) 319-9446.  Commercial lines provide direct access to Loan
Guaranty employees at (303) 914- and the individual extensions provided below.  Loan Administration FAX numbers
are(303) 914-5616 or -5666.

Supervisors and Team Leader

Vacant Loan Administration Officer 5650
Kay Bowersox Servicing Officer lgykbowe@vba.va.gov 5653
Sarah Lund Training and Quality Coordinator lgyslund@vba.va.gov 5636

Servicing Team

Mel Law Servicing and Bids 00-14 lgymlaw@vba.va.gov 5660
Alice Trujillo Servicing and Bids 15-28 lgyatruj@vba.va.gov 5678
Brenda Fulmer Servicing and Bids 29-42 lgybfulm@vba.va.gov 5693
Audrey Sherrod Servicing and Bids 43-56 lgyasher@vba.va.gov 5634
Eddie Staples Servicing and Bids 57-70 lgyestap@vba.va.gov 5656
Myra Sigea Servicing and Bids 71-84 lgymsige@vba.va.gov 5667
Rick Weimer Servicing and Bids 85-99 lgyrweim@vba.va.gov 5655
Emily Lucero Foreclosure Sales Results 00-99 lgyeluce@vba.va.gov 5690

Loss Mitigation Team

Harold Rhoades Loss Mitigation 00-33 lgyhrhoa@vba.va.gov 5661
Jeanne Donoghue Loss Mitigation 34-66 lgyjdono@vba.va.gov 5669
Marsha Stein Loss Mitigation 67-99 lgymstei@vba.va.gov 5633

Claims, Conveyances, Status Calls & 4318 Title

Menika Patterson Claim Status/Conveyances 00-19 lgympatt@vba.va.gov 5664
Cindy Shuel Claim Status/Conveyances 20-39 lgycshue@vba.va.gov 5687
Cindy Steadman Claim Status/Conveyances 40-59 lgycstea@vba.va.gov 5641
Ely Colville Claim Status/Conveyances 60-79 lgyecolv@vba.va.gov 5673
Terri Birdsong Claim Status/Conveyances 80-99 lgytbird@vba.va.gov 5654
Jack Chaney 4318 Title Status 00-99 lgyjchan@vba.va.gov 5658

Foreclosure Bids & NOD/NOI

Jason Moore Foreclosure Bid Control 00-49 lgyjmoor@vba.va.gov 5659
Bob Kusel Foreclosure Bid Control 50-99 lgybkuse@vba.va.gov 5663
Beth Sheehan NOD/NOI 00-99 lgybshee@vba.va.gov 5644

Title, Acquisition and Redemption

Rhonda Bean Colorado/Wyoming/Montana lgyrbean@vba.va.gov (303) 914-5630
Robert Whyel New Mexico lgyrwhye@vba.va.gov (505) 346-4871
Kim Blackburn Idaho lgykblac@vba.va.gov (208) 334-1900
Richard
Rodriguez

Alaska lgyrrodr@vba.va.gov (907) 257-4745

David Eaton Utah lgydeato@vba.va.gov (801) 524-4518
Richard Kemp Oregon lgyrkemp@vba.va.gov (503) 326-2458
Cheryle Day Washington lgycday@vba.va.gov (206) 220-6216



Denver Regional Loan Center
AK CO ID MT NM OR UT WA WY

ALLOWABLE PROPERTY COSTS
Rekey $50 $40 $55 $60 $35 $35 $45 $35 $75
Lock Change $75 $80 $75 $75 $50 $50 $60 $75 $135
Padlock and Hasp $25 $15 $20 $20 $10 $10 $15 $10 $25
Winterizing - Wet System (7) $450 $120 $150 $125 $290 $125
Winterizing - Dry System (7) $150 $100 $125 $100 $100 $100 $190 $100 $100
Winterizing - Sprinkler System (7) $60 $40 $75 $40 $40 $75 $75
Swimming Pool (8) (8) (8) (8) (8) (8) (8) (8) (8)
Initial Lawn Care $50 $75 $75 $60 $50 $75 $200 $100 $75
Monthly Lawn Care $35 $60 $50 $40 $45 $30 $30 $35 $50
Snow Removal $35 $35 $30 $15 $50
Boarding - Windows $40 $50 $30 $50 $70 $35 $25 $30 $50
Boarding - Doors $70 $60 $50 $75 $70 $50 $55 $50 $75
Monthly Property Inspections $20 $20 $20 $20 $20 $20 $20 $20 $20
Debris Removal (9) a/c a/c a/c a/c a/c a/c a/c a/c a/c
Utilities (10) a/c a/c a/c a/c a/c a/c a/c a/c a/c
Utility Transfer (11) $20 $20 $20 $20 $20 $20 $20 $20 $20
Liens(12) a/c a/c a/c a/c a/c a/c a/c a/c a/c

ALLOWABLE  ATTORNEY  FEES
Judicial Foreclosure $850
Non-Judicial Foreclosure/Foreclosure Trustee $850 $800 $600 $600 $675 $600 $675 $600
Deed in Lieu $350 $350 $350 $350 $350 $350 $350 $350 $350
Mobile Home Repossession $350
Bankruptcy (CH 7)  (1) $450 $450 $450 $450 $450 $450 $450 $450 $450
Bankruptcy (CH 11 or 13)  (1) $650 $650 $650 $650 $650 $650 $650 $650 $650
Bankruptcy (additional filings - any chapter) (1) $250 $250 $250 $250 $250 $250 $250 $250 $250
Refunding (2) $50 $50 $50 $50 $50 $50 $50 $50 $50

ALLOWABLE  LEGAL  FEES
Title Policy/Commitment (3) a/c a/c a/c a/c a/c (5) a/c a/c a/c a/c
Title Search/TSG/F/C Certificate/Title Update (4) a/c a/c a/c a/c a/c (5) a/c a/c a/c a/c
Title Report a/c a/c
Filing Fee $91 $97
Public Trustee Fee/Trustee Fee a/c $400
Publication a/c a/c a/c a/c a/c a/c a/c a/c a/c
Sheriff’s Fee a/c a/c a/c $20
Special Master’s Fee a/c
Cry Sale $25
Recording Fee a/c a/c a/c a/c a/c a/c a/c a/c a/c
Service of Process a/c a/c $35 a/c a/c a/c
Posting a/c a/c a/c a/c a/c
Certified Mail (6) a/c a/c a/c $10 a/c a/c a/c a/c a/c
Bankruptcy Filing Fee $75 $75 $75 $75 $75 $75 $75 $75 $75
Gross Tax Receipts 5.56%

APPRAISALS
Liquidation - Single Family $500 $350 $400 $400 $350 $450 $350 $450 $350
Liquidation - Condo $550 $400 $475 $350 $475 $350 $500 $400
Mobile Home $350 $375 $140 $250
Refunding - Re-Inspected for interior only $75 $50 $50 $50 $50 $50 $50 $70 $50

SERVICING FEES
Late Charges 4% of an installment if permitted by the loan instruments.  (All areas)
NSF Checks Use HUD guideline. (All areas)
Simple Assumption $50 $50 $50 $50 $50 $50 $50 $50 $50
Assumption with release of Liability $300 $300 $300 $300 $300 $300 $300 $300 $300
Insurance Policy Substitution $10 $10 $10 $10 $10 $10 $10 $10 $10
Partial Release of Mortgage

 Appraisal: $300 $300 $300 $300 $300 $300 $300 $300 $300
Processing: $100 $100 $100 $100 $100 $100 $100 $100 $100

Charges for Duplicate Copies Use HUD guideline. (All areas)
Year End Statements Use HUD guideline. (All areas)
Amortization Use HUD guideline. (All areas)
Note and Mortgage Use HUD guideline. (All areas)

ALLOWABLE PROPERTY COSTS
Rekey $50 $40 $55 $60 $35 $35 $45 $35 $75
Lock Change $75 $80 $75 $75 $50 $50 $60 $75 $135
Padlock and Hasp $25 $15 $20 $20 $10 $10 $15 $10 $25
Winterizing - Wet System (7) $450 $120 $150 $125 $290 $125
Winterizing - Dry System (7) $150 $100 $125 $100 $100 $100 $190 $100 $100
Winterizing - Sprinkler System (7) $60 $40 $75 $40 $40 $75 $75
Swimming Pool (8) (8) (8) (8) (8) (8) (8) (8) (8)



Initial Lawn Care $50 $75 $75 $60 $50 $75 $200 $100 $75
Monthly Lawn Care $35 $60 $50 $40 $45 $30 $30 $35 $50
Snow Removal $35 $35 $30 $15 $50
Boarding - Windows $40 $50 $30 $50 $70 $35 $25 $30 $50
Boarding - Doors $70 $60 $50 $75 $70 $50 $55 $50 $75
Monthly Property Inspections $20 $20 $20 $20 $20 $20 $20 $20 $20
Debris Removal (9) a/c a/c a/c a/c a/c a/c a/c a/c a/c
Utilities (10) a/c a/c a/c a/c a/c a/c a/c a/c a/c
Utility Transfer (11) $20 $20 $20 $20 $20 $20 $20 $20 $20
Liens(12) a/c a/c a/c a/c a/c a/c a/c a/c a/c

ALLOWABLE  ATTORNEY  FEES
Judicial Foreclosure $850
Non-Judicial Foreclosure/Foreclosure Trustee $850 $800 $600 $600 $675 $600 $675 $600
Deed in Lieu $350 $350 $350 $350 $350 $350 $350 $350 $350
Mobile Home Repossession $350
Bankruptcy (CH 7)  (1) $450 $450 $450 $450 $450 $450 $450 $450 $450
Bankruptcy (CH 11 or 13)  (1) $650 $650 $650 $650 $650 $650 $650 $650 $650
Bankruptcy (additional filings - any chapter) (1) $250 $250 $250 $250 $250 $250 $250 $250 $250
Refunding (2) $50 $50 $50 $50 $50 $50 $50 $50 $50

ALLOWABLE  LEGAL  FEES
Title Policy/Commitment (3) a/c a/c a/c a/c a/c (5) a/c a/c a/c a/c
Title Search/TSG/F/C Certificate/Title Update (4) a/c a/c a/c a/c a/c (5) a/c a/c a/c a/c
Title Report a/c a/c
Filing Fee $91 $97
Public Trustee Fee/Trustee Fee a/c $400
Publication a/c a/c a/c a/c a/c a/c a/c a/c a/c
Sheriff’s Fee a/c a/c a/c $20
Special Master’s Fee a/c
Cry Sale $25
Recording Fee a/c a/c a/c a/c a/c a/c a/c a/c a/c
Service of Process a/c a/c $35 a/c a/c a/c
Posting a/c a/c a/c a/c a/c
Certified Mail (6) a/c a/c a/c $10 a/c a/c a/c a/c a/c
Bankruptcy Filing Fee $75 $75 $75 $75 $75 $75 $75 $75 $75
Gross Tax Receipts 5.56%

APPRAISALS
Liquidation - Single Family $500 $350 $400 $400 $350 $450 $350 $450 $350
Liquidation - Condo $550 $400 $475 $350 $475 $350 $500 $400
Mobile Home $350 $375 $140 $250
Refunding - Re-Inspected for interior only $75 $50 $50 $50 $50 $50 $50 $70 $50

SERVICING FEES
Late Charges 4% of an installment if permitted by the loan instruments.  (All areas)
NSF Checks Use HUD guideline. (All areas)
Simple Assumption $50 $50 $50 $50 $50 $50 $50 $50 $50
Assumption with release of Liability $300 $300 $300 $300 $300 $300 $300 $300 $300
Insurance Policy Substitution $10 $10 $10 $10 $10 $10 $10 $10 $10
Partial Release of Mortgage

 Appraisal: $300 $300 $300 $300 $300 $300 $300 $300 $300
Processing: $100 $100 $100 $100 $100 $100 $100 $100 $100

Charges for Duplicate Copies Use HUD guideline. (All areas)
Year End Statements Use HUD guideline. (All areas)
Amortization Use HUD guideline. (All areas)
Note and Mortgage Use HUD guideline. (All areas)

(a/c)   VA will reimburse the actual cost of these items if they are supported by billing statements and receipts
(1)    VA will reimburse this amount per relief of stay obtained after 10/01/01
(2)    For preparation of legal documents assigning the loan to VA - payable only if no additional foreclosure attorney’s fees are claimed
(3)    VA will reimburse the actual, documented cost of any one of these items
(4)    VA will reimburse the actual, documented cost of any one of these items
(5)    VA will reimburse the actual cost of a title search or title update or the actual cost of a title policy and up to $125 for a title search or title update
(6)    If mailings are required to notify parties formerly in title to the property
(7)    Includes service calls, equipment rental and all supplies needed to complete the job properly
(8)    The allowance for pools varies depending on the type of pool, and the ease of preventing unauthorized entry into the pool area.
(9)    Actual and reasonable expense of removing only debris which poses a documented and imminent health or safety hazard
(10)  Vacant properties only
(11)  Utility bill reflecting this cost must be submitted with request for reimbursement
(12)  Copy of lien must be submitted with request for reimbursement, penalties and interest will not be reimbursed

The following fees are not allowed in any state:  Mileage, eviction fees, copies, faxes, express mail, telephone calls, notary fees, outside attorney fees
All requests for reimbursement must be accompanied by copies of the bills and receipts for each expense


