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SUBJ:  Foreclosure, Property Preservation and Servicing Fees 
 
Purpose 
 
The Denver Regional Loan Center (RLC) has jurisdiction for properties located in 
Colorado, Wyoming, Alaska, Idaho, Montana, New Mexico, Utah, Oregon and 
Washington.  This release provides program participants with guidelines for determining 
which foreclosure, property preservation and servicing fees, and the maximum 
reimbursable amounts of those fees, may be reimbursed on a Claim Under Guaranty in 
these states.  All claims for reimbursement must be reasonable and customary and 
lenders must always obtain quality service at the least expense to them and VA.  Copies 
of bills and receipts, or other evidence of payment, must be submitted with the claim. 
 
Effective Date 
 
The fees and expenses set out in this release are effective for VA loan foreclosures 
conducted on or after June 15, 2004.  Please be aware that several changes were 
made for both property preservation as well as allowable fees and expenses from last 
year’s information bulletin. 
 
Legal and Trustee Fees 
 
All Claims Under Guaranty are subject to Title 38 Code of Federal Regulations 
(CFR) 36.4276(b) and 36.4313(b) which stipulate the combined total of the amounts 
claimed for trustee’s fees and legal services may not exceed $850.  In those states 
where a non-judicial foreclosure is the most common procedure used, payment of 
additional amounts will be considered on a case-by-case basis when a judicial 
foreclosure must be conducted subject to the regulatory limitation previously mentioned.  
The maximum fees for each state under the jurisdiction of this RLC are specified on the 
attachment to this release. 
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Title Insurance 
 
Title insurance policy costs will be reimbursed in those instances where the property is 
conveyed to VA, or when a title policy is obtained instead of a foreclosure certificate.  In 
the event VA returns title of a property to the holder, the cost of the title policy will not be 
reimbursed.  It is the holder’s responsibility to ensure that their attorneys use the correct 
language on billings requesting reimbursement for title policies.   
 
Required Notices 
 
VA will allow $10.00 for each notice of intention to foreclose sent to the original veteran 
and/or liable obligor as required by 38 CFR 36.4317(c). 
 
General information concerning property preservation expenses 
 
• Front entry door lock changes will be reimbursed one time only.  All other doors 

should be rekeyed.   
 
• Winterization of plumbing and heating systems should be done year-around.  Utilities 

should be turned off except for those properties that require them to remain on due to 
local weather conditions, HOA requirements, or safety concerns.   Documentation 
must be submitted with the request for payment evidencing the need for specific 
utilities to remain on.  VA will reimburse for transfer of utilities to the holder’s name, 
as well as actual utility costs when the property is vacant.  

 
• When a property is vacant, apparently abandoned and subject to vandalism, 

appropriate steps must be taken to protect the security.  VA will reimburse actual 
costs, if reasonable and customary, for boarding of windows and doors if the holder 
determines the action is necessary.  This does not mean every vacant property 
should be screened and/or boarded.  In fact, boarding of properties in well-
maintained neighborhoods can invite break-ins.  In locations where vandalism is 
high, all ground floors should be secured.  The material suggested for boarding 
windows and doors is plywood secured with nails; however, the holder should use 
judgment in selecting the most economical method of securing without jeopardizing 
the effectiveness. 

 
• Actual cost, if reasonable and customary, will be paid for removal of debris to 

eliminate health or safety hazards.  Documentation must be submitted with the 
request for payment evidencing the nature and the extent of the hazard.  A fee for 
dumping will be reimbursed if documented by a receipt; however mileage will not be 
reimbursed.   

 
• Pursuant to VA Regulations 36.4278 and 36.4346, holders are required to conduct 

property inspections before the 60th day of delinquency and at least once each 
month after liquidation proceedings have been started unless servicing information 
shows the property continues to be owner-occupied.  An abandoned property must 
be inspected at least monthly to prevent unnecessary deterioration due to vandalism 
or neglect. 
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• Grass should be cut as needed but no more than twice per month between April and 

October.  Mowing once per month may prove sufficient depending on the amount of 
rainfall.  Snow removal should be performed as required by local codes. 

 
Prior Approval  
 
Prior approval for property preservation is not required and will not be given.  It is the 
holder’s responsibility to protect and preserve properties when they become vacant and 
abandoned.  Holders are to ensure compliance with all city, county or other ordinances 
in accordance with the terms of the mortgage loan agreement.  A holder may advance 
any reasonable amount necessary and proper for the maintenance or repair of the 
security and such advance may be added to the guaranteed indebtedness.  Most 
security instruments have a provision to protect the property securing the loan.  The 
removal of hazardous materials, the correction of hazardous conditions, and the 
avoidance of liens are primary concerns.  Failure to protect and preserve the security 
can result in additional losses to the holder.  A diminution in value can cause VA not to 
specify an amount for credit to the indebtedness in the event of foreclosure (no bid).  If 
the holder’s failure to protect and preserve the property increases VA’s liability, the 
holder’s claim payment will be adjusted (reduced). 
 
If an item is not covered by this bulletin or there are unusual circumstances which 
support additional expense, the holder may submit complete information to justify the 
additional expense with the Claim Under Loan Guaranty and request reimbursement at 
that time.  The holder is responsible for taking appropriate measures to protect and 
preserve the security for the loan.  The decision as to what action to take to preserve 
and protect the property is the holder’s decision, and it is independent of the amount of 
the costs which VA will reimburse. 
 
Hazard Insurance 
 
Under 38 CFR 36.4326, it is the holder’s responsibility to procure and maintain 
insurance policies in an amount sufficient to protect the security against risks or hazards 
to which it may be subjected.  All moneys received under such policies covering 
payment of insured losses shall be applied to restoration of the security or to the loan 
balance.  Holders should consult VA in total or near total loss cases before consenting 
to an insurance adjustment if it appears the settlement proceeds will not be sufficient to 
pay off the loan balance or restore the security.  In certain cases when a loan is in the 
process of being terminated and existing coverage has been canceled or renewal has 
been refused, premiums actually paid for high cost coverage will be eligible for 
reimbursement in part, as evidenced by copies of premium notices and paid receipts.  
VA must receive prior notification if hazard insurance is not obtainable, or obtainable 
only at prohibitive cost, in order to prevent a claim adjustment under 38 CFR 
36.4325(b)(3).  Upon receipt and review of the notification, VA will provide assurance in 
writing that there will not be an adjustment due to the holder’s failure to procure and 
maintain an insurance policy.  Please contact a VA Loan Administration Representative 
if you have any questions. 
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Mortgage Loan Servicing Fees 
 
Although VA does not encourage nor endorse fees related to mortgage loan servicing, 
the fees and charges listed below are not prohibited if they are reasonable in amount 
and agreed to by the parties or permissible under the loan agreement.  These items are 
not eligible for reimbursement on the Claim under Loan Guaranty.  

 
• Recording a change of ownership of the mortgage property on the books of the 

servicer.  VA would consider a charge in excess of $50 for such service to be 
unreasonable, regardless of whether or not there is also a substitution of liability on 
the mortgage. 

 
• Processing and reprocessing checks of the borrower which are returned to the 

servicer for insufficiency.  
 
• Substitution of hazard insurance policies during the term of a previously furnished 

policy (at a time other than the normal renewal period) when substitution is made at 
the request of the mortgagor.  A charge in excess of $10 for such service will be 
considered unreasonable.  Any charge for policy renewal or replacement at the 
normal renewal period will be considered inappropriate. 

 
• Processing partial releases of the mortgaged property. 
 
• Processing subordination agreements. 
 
• Modification of the mortgage by a formal written extension or reamortization 

agreement. 
 
• Marking the mortgage satisfied regardless of allowability by local law or loan 

documents. 
 

If You Have Questions 
 
Questions regarding allowable fees and charges should be directed to Loan 
Administration at 1-800-319-9446.  This information bulletin, the allowable fees and 
expenses, and a list of Regional Loan Center key personnel is located on our website at 
www.vba.va.gov/ro/denver/index.htm. 
 
 
 
GRACE COOPER 
Loan Guaranty Officer 
 
Attachment:  Itemized List of Allowable Fees 
 
Distribution:  Holders and Servicers of VA Guaranteed Loans 
 
Recission: Loan Guaranty Letter No. 03-07 


